Skip to main content

PTK Earns International Awards

May 13th, 2021 FeaturedPTK

Coastal Alabama's Phi Theta Kappa Chapters hosted a watch party for Catalyst on April 10 from 1:00-7:00 in the Tombigbee Conference Room on Thomasville campus. Members, officers, and advisors attended educational forums and general sessions before the much-anticipated Hallmark Awards Gala. Totaling seventeen awards, here are the specific accolades Coastal Alabama’s PTK chapters earned:

Top 100 Chapters-Phi Upsilon and Pi Psi

Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award-Pi Psi

Honors in Action Theme Award for Theme 7 Life and Death-Pi Psi

Distinguished Advisor Team Award-Lee Conerly and Kelli Davis

Distinguished Advisor Award-Lee Conerly

Continued Excellence Award-Dr. Charles Lake

Distinguished Chapter Member-Michael Lambert-Phi Upsilon

REACH Reward Chapter Phi Upsilon, Pi Psi, and Alpha Beta Lamda

Five Star Chapter Phi Upsilon and Pi Psi

Distinguished Administrator Award-Dean Mary Beth Lancaster

Distinguished Administrator Award-Dean Linda Grant

Paragon President Award-Dr. Craig Pouncey

Chancellor Award-Chancellor Baker

There are nearly 1300 chapters in nine countries, and the Alabama Region won awards for college readiness and inclusion. To commemorate Lee Conerly’s service to PTK, Phi Upsilon presented her with a plaque and plant. She commented, “As a member of Pi Psi chapter and advisor for Phi Upsilon, I know first-hand the benefits PTK affords its members and advisors. It has been my honor to serve the college as a PTK advisor, and I look forward to all the things our chapters accomplish in the future.”

Service projects for all chapters will continue through April. Please contact Dr. Charles Lake ( for the Bay Minette, Fairhope, and Gulf Shores campuses; Kelli Davis ( or Michael Merry ( for the Monroeville, Thomasville, Gilbertown, and Jackson campuses; and Dr. David Willis ( for the Brewton and Atmore campuses.

Picture caption: Student leaders and scholars fellowship after the Alabama Region Convention- Haven Collins, Megan Tensley, Nevaeh Hurst, Teagan Young, Kaylee Knight, Avie Etheridge, Diana Plascencia, Tracie Tran, Elena Velazquez, Megan Stuart, and Hope Jensen. Back row-Christian May, Jakob Markham, Chase Hornady, Joey Trahan, Matthew Smith, Wyatt Lassiter, DeAndre Higgins, and Nicholas Wilson. Not pictured are Michael Lambert and advisors Lee Conerly, Kelli Davis, Michael Merry, and Dr. Charles Lake