Skip to main content


Coastal Alabama Community College History

Coastal Alabama Community College was formed in 2017 through the consolidation of Alabama Southern Community College (located in Monroeville and Thomasville), Faulkner State Community College (located in Bay Minette, Fairhope and Gulf Shores) and Jefferson Davis Community College (located in Atmore and Brewton). But our roots go back to the creation of Alabama’s 13 original two-year colleges via Act No. 93 of the Alabama Legislature in 1963.

History timeline

1963 — Bay Minette State Junior College, Hobson State Technical College in Thomasville, Jefferson Davis State Junior College in Brewton, and Patrick Henry State Junior College in Monroeville are founded. 

1966 — To honor a pre-Civil War statesman and educator, the State Board of Education renamed Bay Minette State Junior College to William Lowndes Yancey State Junior College. 

1970 — Yancey State’s name changed to James H. Faulkner State Junior College to honor a prominent Baldwin County citizen. The college’s Fairhope site also begins offering classes. Patrick Henry accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).

1972 — Hobson State accredited by the SACS Commission on Occupational Education Institutions. Atmore State Technical Institute created. 

1974 — Classes begin at Atmore State Technical Institute. 

1975 — Faulkner’s Fairhope campus adds permanent staff, student services and expanded offerings of programs and services to the community. Jackson site of Hobson State is established. 

1977 — Gilbertown campus opens. 

1983 — Atmore State Technical Institute’s name changed to Atmore State Technical College.

1985 — Faulkner State begins offering classes in Foley.

1987 — Site of present Fairhope campus acquired. 

1990 — Jefferson Davis Community College formed through the consolidation of Jefferson Davis State Junior College and Atmore State Technical College. 

1991 — Alabama Southern Community College created by the merger of Patrick Henry State Junior College and Hobson State Technical College. 

1992 — James H. Faulkner State Junior College renamed Faulkner State Community College to more accurately reflect its mission and purpose. Alabama Southern accredited by the SACSCOC. 

1993 — Faulkner’s Foley site relocates to Gulf Shores facility built by the City of Gulf Shores. 

2002 — Alabama Aviation College established.

2004 — Gilbertown’s new library facility constructed and opens. 

2015 — The Academy at the Fairhope Airport opens

2017 — Coastal Alabama Community College is born.  

2018 — The Alabama Aviation College at Brookley Field is merged with Coastal Alabama Community College.