Skip to main content

COVID 19 Guidance

Updated Fall 2021 Protocol

As we approach another semester, we see in the State of Alabama an increase in COVID-19 cases. Unfortunately, while we hoped to return this Fall as “business as usual,” we recognize the need to issue a protocol for procedures and practices we deem important to the safety of our employees and students. With hopes that vaccine numbers will increase as people exercise personal responsibility, thus minimizing the number of positive COVID-19 cases, the College continues to monitor guidelines issued by the CDC, the Governor’s Office, and the Alabama Community College System Office.

College personnel have worked to identify specific measures to help ensure the safety of students, faculty, and staff. All are required to follow this protocol or may be subject to disciplinary action.

All measures listed in Coastal Alabama Community College's protocol are subject to change at any time due to state or health agency updates on the COVID-19 pandemic.

Download the Fall 2021 COVID-19 Protocol Here

COVID-19 Guidance FAQs

Coastal Alabama Community College will offer traditional (seated) and various formats of online courses for Fall 2021.

Yes. Coastal Alabama Community College requires individuals to wear a face covering or mask indoors regardless of vaccination status per the CDC's latest guidance.

Vaccination is the leading prevention strategy to protect individuals from the COVID-19 disease and end the COVID-19 pandemic. The COVID-19 vaccine significantly reduces the potential of severe illness, hospitalizations, and death. According to the CDC, COVID-19 vaccines are safe and effective, and everyone 12 years of age and older is now eligible to get a free COVID-19 vaccination. 

Pursuant to state law, the Alabama Community College System and its colleges will not mandate the COVID vaccine as a condition of attendance or employment, but vaccination is strongly encouraged for all students, faculty, and staff.

Yes. Sun Chief Hall and Thompson Hall on the Bay Minette Campus and Lakeview Apartments on the Brewton Campus will be open for students. The College will hold a set number of rooms to be used for quarantine purposes based on trends of the pandemic.

Yes. Food services provided on campus will follow county and state health and safety guidelines.

Stay home. The College will ask anyone showing symptoms of COVID-19 to leave campus and consult a healthcare provider before returning to campus.

Persons who test positive for COVID-19 with symptoms can return to campus:

  • 10 days after symptoms first appeared and
  • 24 hours with no fever without the use of fever-reducing medications and
  • Other symptoms of COVID-19 are improving (For example: cough, shortness of breath. Please note, loss of taste and smell may persist for weeks or months after recovery and need not delay the end of isolation)

Persons who test positive for COVID-19 without symptoms can return to campus after 10 days have passed since he/she had a positive viral test for COVID-19 if the person continues to have no symptoms.

 

If the person develops symptoms, they can return to campus:

  • 10 days after symptoms first appeared and
  • 24 hours with no fever without the use of fever-reducing medications and
  • Other symptoms of COVID-19 are improving (For example: cough, shortness of breath. Please note, loss of taste and smell may persist for weeks or months after recovery and need not delay the end of isolation)

Fully-vaccinated persons with exposure to COVID-19 should get tested 3-5 days after exposure, regardless of whether they exhibit symptoms. Fully-vaccinated persons should also wear a face covering/mask indoors in public for 14 days following exposure or until a COVID-19 test result is negative.

Non-vaccinated persons who have had close contact with someone with COVID-19 should stay home for 14 days after their last exposure to that person unless that person meets the following criteria:

  • The person has been fully vaccinated and shows no symptoms of COVID-19

OR

  • The person had COVID-19 illness within the previous 3 months and
  • has recovered and
  • Remains without COVID-19 symptoms (for example cough, shortness of breath).

August 16, 2021